RealTime IT News

Momentum Awards Honor Internet Luminaries

Travelocity, eBay, Priceline, Mary Furlong, Homeshark, Seth Godin and LinkExchange took home the first Momentum Awards for leadership in Internet endeavors.

The Momentum Awards, presented by ChannelSeven.com, ICONOCAST, Internet.com, The Industry Standard, eMarketer, @d:tech and @NY, recognizes organizations and individuals whose contributions are driving the Internet industry forward.

"This year's winners are all examples of companies or individuals who are pushing the envelope in a new Internet-driven economy," said Robert Risse, publisher of Channel Seven. "The diverse group of winners clearly shows how the Internet is shaping a wide range of business, marketing, advertising and community activities."

eBay.com was honored for its innovative work building an online auction community. Going beyond the standard e-commerce model where a single retailer sells to hundreds of thousands of individual buyers, eBay has created a marketplace where hundreds of thousands of people buy and sell to each other.

Priceline.com was honored for its refinement of "efficiency markets" on the Web. Priceline.com is a buying service through which consumers name the price they are willing to pay, and are matched with sellers who will meet buyers' needs and prices.

Mary Furlong, CEO of Third Age Media, was honored for her vision in creating online resources for the older Internet community. Third Age specializes in advertising and marketing to adults 45 and over.

Travelocity.com was honored for its efforts in the field of e-commerce. With over 4 million members, and 1998 revenues averaging over $1 million dollars a day, Travelocity is a model of success in the industry.

Homeshark.com was honored for its innovative efforts in the field of online home buying, combining services including realty, loan application, rate information and mortgages in one place.

Seth Godin, president/CEO of Yoyodyne was honored for his innovative, integrated, programs that are delivering upon the "one-to-one" marketing promise of the Internet platform.

LinkExchange.com was honored for its work with small-site owners. By offering services from launch through e-commerce and more, it has provided previously unavailable services to smaller sites.

Other awards included:

The E-Marketer Of The Year Award went to Cisco Systems, a company "that has not only succeeded online, but has redefined the meaning of success online." Cisco Systems, which has been marketing online for only two years, now sells an average of $16 million of goods on the Internet every single day.

The Turbo-Agency Of 1998 Award was presented to Modem Media, as the Internet advertising agency that has done the most -- through exceptional campaign development and overall innovation -- to further the use of rich media technologies in Internet advertising.

The @NY Silicon Alley Leadership Award was presented to Candice Carpenter, co- founder of i-Village, in recognition of the company or individual that has done the most to foster the development of the Internet Industry in New York through business leadership, innovation, and/or industry service.

Judges included Samsung Electronics' Thomas Rhee, Sony Audio's Marty Homlish, Public Relations expert Jack O'Dwyer, Caesar's Palace's Phil Cooper, Syndicated Columnist Cindy Adams, Advertising Expert Jerry Della Famina, Abrams/Gentile Toy inventor Marty Abrams, Madison Square Garden's Pam Harris, Estee Lauder Companies' Angela Kapp, ChannelSeven.com Europe's Andrei Puhov, DM News' Ken Magill, Advertising Age's Michael Wilke, Reuters America's' Yukari Iwatani, Tristar Interactive's Lynda Keeler, eMarketer's Sam Alfstad, The New York Post's Don Kaplan, J&R Music World's Rochelle Friedman, HWH PR's Lois Whitman, USA Network's Karen Donahue, The Industry Standard's John Battelle, ICONOCAST's Michael Tchong, and ChannelSeven.com's Mara Lipacis.

The awards and celebration were held at the Milk Studios in Manhattan.