RealTime IT News

Over 300 Sites Partipate in World IPv6 Day

At 5 PM PT/ 8 PM ET on June 7th (or 00:00:00 UTC on June 8), World IPv6 Day will start. It's an event that will put hundreds of mainstream websites on IPv6 for the first time, as the world prepares for the transition to IPv6.

The free pool of available IPv4 addresses was officially exhausted in February of this year. With the end of easily available IPv4 addresses, IPv6 is the only way forward to continue the growth of the connected devices and the Internet itself. The obvious need for IPv6 has helped to spur a dramatic surge in the number of public websites that will be participating in World IPv6 day.

"Over 300 websites around the world have indicated they will be participating in World IPv6 Day," Greg Wood, Director of Communications at the Internet Society told InternetNews.com. "In addition to websites with global reach, such as Google, Yahoo!, and Facebook, many participants are among the leading sites in their region."

Read the full story at EnterpriseNetworkingPlanet:
World IPv6 Day Kicks Off