RealTime IT News

What Will Follow OpenStack Grizzly into the Open Source Cloud?

openstackFrom the 'Open Source' naming files:

One of the interesting idiosyncrasies of open source projects can communities is the desire to choose release names – often following some kind of logical (alphabetical in some cases) order.

The open source OpenStack cloud platform is no stranger to alphabetical releases.

The first named release of OpenStack that I wrote about was Bexar back in February of 2011. That was followed by Cactus in April of 2011, Diablo in September of 2011, Essex in April of 2012 and most recently Folsom in September of 2012.

Folsom will be followed by Grizzly but what follows Grizzly?

That's what the OpenStack community is voting on this week.

We know that it has to be an 'H' name and the Technical Committee at OpenStack has narrowed it down to four possibilities:

Hood, Havana, Harbor or Hatfield

Yeah they're all places.

"Codenames are cities or counties near where the corresponding OpenStack design summit took place," the OpenStack wiki states. "An exception (called the Waldon exception) is granted to elements of the state flag that sound especially cool. "

The Waldon exception is the reason why Grizzly is called Grizzly and not the San Diego release. The Grizzly is an element of the state flag of California, the state in which the most recent design summit took place.

Voting on the 'H' name for OpenStack closes tomorrow – on January 29th.

Sean Michael Kerner is a senior editor at InternetNews.com, the news service of the IT Business Edge Network, the network for technology professionals Follow him on Twitter @TechJournalist.