EarthLink Waives DSL Setup Fees

EarthLink Network Inc. Thursday announced
its waiving all set-up fees for its broadband Internet access nationwide in an effort to lure more customers to its high-speed service.

The offer allows EarthLink (ELNK) DSL subscribers to save up to $300 in initial set up fees when they sign up for EarthLink’s $50 a month consumer DSL service and complete a
do-it-yourself modem installation.

Earlier this week EarthLink reached a
50,000-broadband-customer milestone. The national Internet service provider
intends to spur further broadband deployment to customers in the 30-plus
U.S. markets it serves.

Mike Lunsford, EarthLink executive vice president of broadband services,
said its research showed that the biggest barrier to people getting
broadband services was the substantial up-front price for equipment and

“We think that by saving our members hundreds of dollars initially and
cutting down on the time it takes to get installed, more of them will try
our broadband experience,” Lunsford said. “With our industry reputation for
customer service, they can rest assured that they’re in good hands if they
need help or want to find compelling Internet content.”

In addition to waiving nationwide setup fees, EarthLink has instituted
other strategies to attract new broadband members. Test market results in
Dallas proved that self-install kits could cut the DSL provisioning cycle
in half by eliminating the need for visit from a local phone company.

Meanwhile, EarthLink continues to test market other regional DSL
promotions, like its three-months-for-the-price-of-one deal currently being
offered in Los Angeles and San Francisco.

EarthLink DSL access is currently available to limited service areas in
Maine, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey,
Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Texas, Colorado,
Arizona, California and Washington.

EarthLink is scheduled to extend DSL services to into Albany, Buffalo,
Rochester, and Syracuse, N.Y.; Albuquerque, N.M.; Austin and San Antonio, Texas;
Birmingham, Ala.; Charlotte, N.C.; Cincinnati, Columbus, Cleveland and Dayton,
Ohio; Colorado Springs, Colo.; Detroit and Grand Rapids Mich.; Harrisburg,
Philadelphia and Pittsburgh Pa.; Indianapolis, Ind; Jacksonville, Orlando,
and Tampa, Fla.; Kansas City and St. Louis, Mo., Las Vegas, Nev.; Louisville,
Ky.; Memphis and Nashville, Tenn.; Milwaukee, Wis.; Minneapolis, Minn.; New Orleans,
La.; Norfolk, Va.; Oklahoma City, Okla.; Portland, Ore.; Providence, R.I.; Richmond,
Va.; Salt Lake City, Utah and Santa Barbara, Calif., throughout the year.

News Around the Web