ICANN Names Review Advisory Committee Members

The Internet Corp. for Assigned Names and Numbers this week named eight individuals from seven different nations to its independent review advisory committee.

The committee, which is required by ICANN’s bylaws, will advise the group’s board of directors on the creation of an independent third-party that will review its decisions.

Committee members are:

  • Linda Wilson, chair, United States

    Wilson is the president of Radcliffe College at Harvard University and also serves as an ICANN director. She previously also served on the National Science Foundation’s director’s advisory council for nine years.

  • Mads Bryde Anderson, Denmark

    Anderson is professor of private law at the University of Copenhagen and has authored several books and articles on information technology, intellectual property and contract law. He also serves as chairman of Danish Government IT Security Council.

  • Ryozo Hayashi, Japan

    Hayashi is director-general for machinery and information industry policy at the Machinery and Information Industry Bureau of Japan’s Ministry of International Trade and Industry.

  • Ethan Katsh, United States

    Katsh is director of the University of Massachusetts at Amherst’s Center for Information Technology and a professor of legal studies. He is also co-founder of the Online Ombuds Office, a project that explores dispute resolution on the Internet.

  • Hans Kraaijenbrink, Netherlands

    Kraaijenbrink is an executive board member of the European Telecommunications Network Operators Association in Brussels and an ICANN board member.

  • Jorge Plano, Argentina

    Plano is a professor at the Universidad Tecnologica Nacional in Buenos Aires. He has studied the social impact of network technologies and has served as Argentina’s national director of information policies.

  • Peter Dengate Thrush, New Zealand

    Thrush is a lawyer practicing in IT and intellectual property law.

  • Jorge Vega, Peru

    Vega is the general managing partner at the law firm Estudio Osterling, Arias-Schreiber, Vega, Orbegoso & Associates.

News Around the Web